Quilt 1, Part 1: Fancy

photo 1     photo 2

Another busy summer day. Frankie started summer preschool while Rosie and I went to the park for Boot Camp with Babysitters. She charmed the babysitters and was pushed in the swings for most of the class and I did burpees and other exercises. When we picked him up, Frankie reported that there is a “big, big huuuuge sandbox” with diggers and a bulldozer and that, after much nervousness before going today, he was okay with going back for the next class. Success!

After naps and an early dinner of mac and cheese, we were off to soccer. Again, Frankie preferred to watch the instructional half and then excitedly played during the scrimmage. He took a couple of good falls (and got back up!) but ultimately became very frustrated and fitful that he didn’t score a goal tonight. We had a long talk about sportsmanship and he eventually calmed down. Ever the little sister, Rosie is determined to join the big kids on the pitch and is getting pretty quick as she sprints off. I spend half of soccer chasing her down and the other half providing emotional support. The life of a parent, I guess.

It’s quiet in our house without Loki. Hero sits a little closer when I sew, work, type. It’s comforting for both of us. I now have a pile of 2.5 x 4.5 inch pieces of Bonnie & Camille’s Happy Go Lucky waiting to take shape as Fancy, one of the first quilt patterns I decided I wanted to make. 260 cheerful little rectangles are ready and waiting for the next step in this process.

 

Leave a comment